Boogie Board Tablet in Singapore – Review

I was at Mini Toons Action City store in Sengkang looking for gift ideas when I chance upon Boogie Board, a digital scratchpad. I got excited when I saw it and after a little waiting in the line, I was able to play with it. The tablet is amazingly thin and works as advertised. It’s beautiful and registers my every stroke instantly. And this device is too easy to use with only one button to operate which is the erase button.

Here are some of the features of Boogie Board Tablet.

  • The Boogie Board tablet’s LCD writing surface captures your every stroke without paper – or special writing instruments.
  • The Boogie Board tablet’s writing surface is pressure sensitive, displaying different line thicknesses based on the amount of pressure you apply
  • The Boogie Board tablet requires no software or other complex actions. Simply apply pressure with your instrument to create an image and erase
  • Write or draw with just about any non-marking, non-scratching instrument – even your finger nail – to create different visual effects, patterns
  • All ages will find the Boogie Board tablet hard to put down. It makes writing and drawing fun

Caveats

In the limited time that I played with the device, I saw at least two things that can be improved.

  • You sketches cannot be saved. The workaround here is to get your smartphone or camera to take a photo of your sketch on the Boogie Board Tablet.
  • 50,000 erases limit. – That’s seems like a big number but in the few minutes of sketching, I think I pressed the erase button at least 20 times. Imagine if I have it for an hour. I can easily hit that button a hundred times a day.

But despite these shortcomings, the device is still makes an excellent gift item. Sure, it won’t replace your pen and paper but it is still a beautiful device. If you give this to a person who loves to draw/sketch, they’ll be in heaven. Okay, the price may not be very affordable at SGD59.90. At that price, only special people may receive it. šŸ™‚
Here’s a review from YouTube.

UPDATE:
If you want to buy this in Singapore, you can go to Action City, not Mini Toons. Thanks to Fred for pointing that out. Also, the Boogie Board RIP is already available at Amazon. The RIP can save your sketches into a PDF.

5 comments

    1. That’s correct, Fred. Thanks for pointing that out. I always confused myself with the names of these two stores that are adjacent to each other in Compass Point – Sengkang.

  1. I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.|
    I could not resist commenting. Very well written!|
    With having so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself
    or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my
    agreement. Do you know any techniques to help prevent content from being
    stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

