Samsung NX200 Camera Singapore

I was on a hunt for a mirrorless camera lately and I was considering Panasonic GX1, Sony NEX-5N and NEX-C3. I initially took out Olympus PEN from the options as it doesn’t appeal to me despite its some advantages over the other models. And Samsung? It was never in the shortlist. It wasn’t even on my radar.

But as fate would have it, I’m holding a brand new Samsung NX200 and quite frankly, I’m happy with it. Any person moving from a Nikon DSLR to this baby will find the switch easy. The dials and buttons that we have grown accustomed to in DSLRs are there. That and the fact that the NX200 uses APS-C mirrorless sensor which is similar in size to its bigger cousins are the two main big draws to me.
image

I’ll post a short review on it later. For the mean time, here’s the package that I got.

Samsung NX200 body
18-55mm (1:3.5-5.6) kit lens
50-200mm (1:3.5-5.6) telezoom lens
20mm f2.8 pancake lens
Tripod
DryBox
Extra Battery
2 Toshiba 8GB class 10 SDCard
3 Steinzeiser UV Filters

That’s all for S$1468.00 from Harvey Norman-Funan. At ALAN Photo, also in Funan, you can get the base kit for only $850 and then add $299 for any of other lenses. That makes the price from the two stores almost equal if you get all three lenses. I chose Harvey Norman because they gave more freebies. I guess ALAN Photo can give all the freebies, too, except the three UV Filters.  But either way, you can’t go wrong between the two stores and I must say Joseph of ALAN Photo has been very helpful and accommodating.

I’m taking the camera for another quick real world test in the streets of Singapore particularly at Orchard Rd. I’ll post my findings after that. Hopefully, everything will be just fine.

Leave a Reply

