Looking For HardDisk in Singapore

I just recently bought an OrangePi and it is currently working fine. Among other things, I plan to use it as a pseudo-NAS or SeaFile server. There’s just one thing that is stopping me from doing that — I don’t have a spare harddisk.

The past two weeks, I’ve been looking for a suitable harddisk. I have an extra eSATA casing lying on my drawer so it doesn’t matter if it’s internal or external. What matters to me is the speed, capacity and of course, price. Since I intend to use it as my DropBox replacement/complement and to retire my DLink NAS, it must be fast.

SSD is out of the picture as much I want to go that route. It is just too expensive for my own personal use. Interestingly, Seagate has just released the 2TB FireCuda which is a SSHD (solid state hybrid drive). It means it has SSD, typically 8GB and the traditional harddisk drive in one package. The SSD is used to boost performance by utilizing Seagate’s Multi-Tier Caching algorithms. It analyses and monitors usage so that it can efficiently place the most frequently used files onto its flash memory(the SSD part). It also uses the SATA 6Gbps and will offer speeds of up to 140MB/s.

As per Seagate, FireCuda can deliver as much as five times faster performance than traditional hard drive. That’s fast and enticing. It would be suitable for my use-case without breaking my already broken bank account.

Its price is comparable to other traditional harddisks and comes with 5 years warranty. That’s long and I’m almost sold to it. But I’m not buying one yet. At least not until I find a real good review of its performance.

Leave a Reply

